Software Development Life Cycle: Phases & Models

  1. Home
  2. »
  3. News
  4. »
  5. Software Development Life Cycle: Phases & Models

Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC) is a detailed plan that describes how to design, develop, and maintain specific software. Each phase of the SDLC has its own processes and deliverables that feed over to the next.

Why SDLC is important for developing a software system?

  1. It serves as a foundation for project planning, scheduling, and costing.
  2. Provides a framework for a standard set of activities and deliverables
  3. It’s a system for keeping track of and controlling projects.
  4. Increases the visibility of project planning to all development process stakeholders.
  5. Increases and enhances development speed.
  6. Helps you to reduce project risk.

SDLC Phases:

  • Phase 1: Requirement collection and analysis
  • Phase 2: Feasibility study
  • Phase 3: Design
  • Phase 4: Coding
  • Phase 5: Testing
  • Phase 6: Installation/Deployment
  • Phase 7: Maintenance

To learn more about SDLC, click here.